Spiritual ‘Selective Hearing Disorder’ (John 4:31-42)

It has been said, “Confession is good for the soul.”  So here goes…I have a disease called “selective hearing disorder.”  Although, this is not life threatening, it does take its toll on me.  It can be dangerous. For instance, there was the time when I had just settled into the couch after a long day, my whole body had just relaxed, Sports center had just returned from a commercial break, and all of a sudden I hear (I mean, I don’t really hear it…it could be that squeaky garage door or maybe even something from next door…) a scream from upstairs that sounds an awful lot like S-P-I-D-E-R.

Now I have been through this drill before….Leigh-Ann sees a spider.  In reality (I hope you are reading this Honey) the spider has probably been there all day and will continue to be there until I get up to go to bed.  In addition, I think spiders are valuable…maybe in the time it takes me to get up there, the spider will have a few more minutes to catch a few more smaller insects in its web.  So after careful consideration, I make the decision.  Due to the fact that I am not completely sure I heard Leigh-Ann (99.9% is not completely sure) and even if in fact it was Leigh-Ann, by stalling I could help her in the long run by allowing the spider to trap more insects, I decide to wait.

By now I have totally lost track of Sports Center and am holding my breath waiting for the next loud T-R-O-Y (usually this is within 5-10 seconds depending on the size of the spider).  This is where my disease (selective hearing disorder) can become dangerous.  So I have learned a few coping mechanisms.  This may be helpful if you have ever experienced some of these same symptoms.

First, I become very involved in what I am doing (back to Sports Center).  Then I get really comfortable (one ear against a pillow) and start to doze off.  When Leigh-Ann comes down the stairs looking for me I wait until she is right next to me and then sort of jump awake.  This buys me some time to think of a way to dart upstairs and kill the spider before getting killed (If you are still reading this Honey…I love you).  Once the spider has been disposed of Leigh-Ann is so relieved she will forget to ask why I couldn’t hear her.  This is fine because “selective hearing disorder” is hard to explain as you can see.

Wow!  I feel good now that is off my chest.  So good that I think I will preach on it Sunday.  Not exactly “selective hearing disorder,” but a strain of it that affects our spiritual life.  Often we know what the right thing to do is and we fail to do it.  Just like me on the couch we think of excuses and then rationalize our failures.

Jesus told his disciples in John 4:34, “My food is to do the will of Him who sent me and to accomplish his work.”  Jesus was committed to a life of obedience.  Without getting any further into the sermon for Sunday, I encourage you to spend some time reading from John 4:31-42.  I also hope that you will join me in praying for God to work in our lives as we study His teaching.

I hope you have a “New Life” day….the way life is meant to be!!!

Troy

 

Leave a Reply

