Thanksgiving and Lazarus (John 11:1-44)

This year for thanksgiving we enjoyed a “first” and went to Branson for a few days with my parents and my brother Todd and his family.  We had a blast; my only regret is that today we don’t have any leftovers from the HUGE Thanksgiving Dinner.

After eating our first ever Thanksgiving dinner at a buffet in Branson, we took some time to share all the things for which we are thankful.

I am certainly thankful for my family….beginning with Leigh-Ann, Alexa and Sophia and extending out beyond my parents, brothers and sister and their families.  I am also thankful for you….if you are reading this you are a part of the New Life family that has not only had its beginnings within the past year, but has also been growing like a weed.

I think about all the different lives that have been changed…some straight off the street, some lives that have been entrenched in painful and dangerous lifestyles, some that are children, some that have enjoyed the comforts of life for too long and some like me who had become complacent in a form of spirituality.  God certainly changes lives and we certainly have much to thank Him for….

Today I received an email with the following:

Someone wrote, “If you woke up this morning with more health than illness, then you are more blessed than the million who will not live through this week.

“If you have never experienced the danger of battle, the loneliness of imprisonment, the agony of torture, or the pangs of starvation, you are ahead of 500 million people in the world.”

“If you can attend a church meeting without fear of harassment, arrest, torture, or death, then you are more blessed than 3 billion people in the world.”

“If you have money in the bank, cash in your wallet and spare change in a dish someplace, you are among the top 8 percent of the world’s wealthy.”

Again, we have much to be thankful for. And when you get down to it, this is why we primarily exist: To give thanks to God – not just on Thanksgiving Day – but every day of our lives.

Sunday, we will study the story of the raising of Lazarus from John 11:1-44.  I hope you will pray with me for God to work in each of our lives.  This Sunday we will also have the opportunity to look at a property that is a possibility for our relocation at 2:30pm.  We will spend time in prayer following a tour.

I hope you enjoy the next few days worth of leftovers and don’t forget to thank the Lord for His provision, because not everyone has Turkey in the fridge!

In a spirit of thanksgiving!

Troy

Leave a comment