Stopped Traffic and the Unanticipated Slowness of Transition

One thing I can’t stand is stopped traffic.  Earlier today, I was headed downtown on I-70 and I noticed on the sign that the left lane was closed and to expect delays.  I guess maybe I am an optimist, but since I was in the center lane I looked to both sides and considering the fact that the traffic was pretty light, I deducted that we really did not need the left lane.

It was just about that time that I saw brake lights and for all practical purposes I pulled into my parking space in the westbound lane of I-70.  I became a hostage to the pavement in the left lane.  I was calm for about 10 seconds and then I began to panic….it was written all over my face….frantic, piercing eyes going from rear view to side mirror over the shoulder and then looking ahead in a hysterical cycle.  I spotted a break in traffic and then took the chance to move over one lane and then the right lane opened up and with the thought that the meek may inherit the earth but certainly not the right lane I pulled out.  Now there are two ways to look at this move: 1. It is self-centered or 2. It is my new ministry to test other driver’s spiritual depth.  I prefer to look at this as my ministry.

Unfortunately, I have a conscience and so after driving at least a mile and passing hundreds of cars in the exit lane, I had to make the decision to either test more spirituality or take the exit and go way out of the way.  Since the topic of my sermon is on the Holy Spirit for Sunday, I opted to actually take the exit.  After driving a few miles I was able to turn around and find my way back to I-70.  As I pushed my way back into the parking lot, I realized that everything was down to one lane.  Now the reason for the parking lot was three Mo-Dot crews that were patching the concrete.

At the moment, I was frustrated because it seemed like a lot of hassle for three patches.  However after pondering the situation I realized that they were patching the potholes that I mentally threaten to call the city about when I pass by every day.  Since it has been several hours since this incident, my emotions have come back under control and I will share my lessons learned.

I struggle when everything does not go my way at every moment of the day.  There are events that I wish for (fixed potholes) and then when that is happening I get frustrated because it slows down my day.  As we look to relocate to a new gathering place for our church, I have found myself frustrated over how long it is taking and that we have to go into temporary space.  However, I am confident that we will have opportunities as a result of this “slower than hoped for” transition that will cause me to look back in appreciation.

With this in mind, this Sunday, March 2 is our last Sunday at the Scarritt building.  We will be moving out of our offices tomorrow beginning at 9:00am.  However we will be meeting one last time at the Scarritt building on Sunday, March 2.

I invite you to take a few minutes to look over the blogs on our website: http://www.newlifekc.org/blogs.html

I invite you to be a part of our last service at the Scarritt Building.  We will study John 16:4b-15.  We will participate in worshipful music, prayer and communion.

I close with a verse that God has used in my life this past week from Ezra 7:10 “For Ezra had set his heart to study the Law of the Lord, and to do it and to teach his statutes and rules in Israel.”

I love you all!

Troy

Leave a Reply

