A Church not Defined by its Building

Yesterday I received the following e-mail from a fellow New Lifer….. “Heard you were swamped this week so take a quick break….as we were all leaving our Bible study last night, somehow the elevator went up instead of down.  A man in a black leather jacket asked if we were going down and we said yes.  We were jabbering all the way down and when the door opened this man held the door for all of us and followed us out.  As we went out the door he looks at my Bible and asks if it is a Thompson Chain.  Everyone else kept going, and I said what?  He asked again and I told him it was and that it was pretty cool and showed it to him.  He proceeded to tell me his name and that he was from Florida.  He and his wife were in town because she was seeking a job with the city.  He was a backslidden saved Christian and his wife is an unsaved person from Turkey.  He told me he really missed the fellowship of a church and said he had been praying that God would help him get back on track.  He kept telling me all his vices and I just told him to confess them and God would forgive him.  He really wants his wife to be saved.  I asked him if I could pray for him and he said sure.  I looked him straight in the eye and prayed and he kept eye contact for quite awhile and then closed them.  I left him there.  Now that was a blessing to me, I don’t care what anybody says.  Pray for him and his family and so will I.  Now get back to work.  Love ya brother.”

I have been thinking about our church body and the fact that we are not defined by a building.  I have heard more stories about what God is doing in many different locations on Wednesday nights.  I struggle sharing stories because it seems that each of us have incredible things that God is teaching/revealing to us and so nearly every story I could share would be read by the person the story is about.  For this reason we have opened up a blog section on our website for you to share your own stories online for mutual growth.  If you are interested in writing a blog just reply and let me know.  If you want to take a peak at what God is doing in the lives of other New Lifers you can go to our website under the Resources page: http://www.newlifekc.org/blogs.html.

This whole relocation thing is kind of like an adventure and I hope you can join in the excitement!  This week we will take a closer look at the 2nd half of John 16.  If you have missed a few weeks you can catch the past weeks messages that are posted on the website at http://www.newlifekc.org/resources/deploy/.

Keeping my eyes on the Son!

Troy

Leave a Reply

