Faith or Fear

One thing I have learned as a parent is that kids are fearless…until…they learn how to fear.

Leigh-Ann loves to throw our babies over to me…and so far we have not dropped one of them :). Think about it…even if they are just a few feet away, a baby that is 2 foot tall travelling through mid-air reaching a height of six feet is passing at a height that is 3x his own height. That would be like me being thrown at the height of 18 feet.

Um…yeah…not so sure I’m ready for that….but the kiddos Loooove it!

As kids get older we let (make) them participate in activities that are FUN…like tubing on the water or riding on a jet ski. I have found that the younger the kids are, the easier it is to get them to take the risk. As they get older, they hear horror stories and begin to imagine all the creatures swimming beneath the surface. After awhile, they have a bad experience and become deathly afraid…until of course they push through the fear.

This happened to one of our children a few years ago…she was made for speed. One hot summer day she and I were on a jet ski…and loving it! I slowed down for a corner and it happened in slow motion…we tipped over. That became a turning point where she learned that we could actually fall into the lake while riding (or at least attempting to ride) a jet ski.

We were of course wearing our life preservers and popped right back up…but ever since that experience, it has taken quite a bit more coaxing and prodding to get her back on the water.

Fear…

It is really the opposite of faith. When my trust is high my fear is low and vice versa…

This Sunday at New Life we continue our study of the seven churches in Revelation. We will look closely at the church located in the city of Smyrna (Izmir) from 2:8-11. This was a church that had plenty to fear, but instead the people lived by faith.

Living in the middle of a large population that was wealthy and educated, the Christians in Smyrna were poor and persecuted…however, they are the only church out of the seven whose letter was entirely positive.

Looking in the mirror, besides noticing that my hair is thinning :), I am evaluating my own ratio of faith to fear.

Even though I have some experiences that give me a good reason to fear…I have an even better reason for strong faith…and that is where we will start Sunday.

Living by faith and not in fear!
Troy

Leave a Reply

