New Life Sunday…m​issing friends…

This morning I woke up thinking about what it was going to be like to be away from the kids for 10 days. I am not excited about that…

The truth is that they will hardly notice that Leigh-Ann and I are gone and we will talk about them constantly…actually, at least one of them is already having a hard time with the “out of the country for 10 days” deal.

Separation can be so painful…

These thoughts remind me of the time when my parents dropped me off at college as a freshman. I remember our final lunch together at Ponderosa and then moving into my dorm room with their help.

I remember looking over my shoulder and watching them leave as I was heading off to practice with a lump in my throat. My mind was racing through all the ways that they had shown me love while growing up. I remember wishing that I had taken more opportunities to share my gratitude.

This is 17 years later, I am the parent that is leaving and am so glad it’s not college…yet. I don’t even want to think about that…

As I consider how difficult it is to leave those we love, I am reminded that as Christians and members of a church, it should be just as difficult to leave our friends.

If you don’t feel a deep tugging at your heart at the thought of leaving your friends, then maybe you have not invested appropriately into relationships. The writer of Proverbs said, “Friends come and friends go, but a true friend sticks by you like family.” We have the opportunity to look in the mirror and ask ourselves if we are that true friend that sticks by our friends like family.

Imagine the strength that comes as a result of deep, Gospel centered relationships. When we do life together with a focus on the Kingdom, there is no limit to what God can do through us. The only bad news is that it will be very hard to move on if and when God calls us to go else ware.
 

Leigh-Ann and I are confident that God has opened the doors for us to go overseas for 10 days. We are not looking forward to saying good bye to so many family and friends, but we are very excited about coming back with more relationships overseas and stronger ones here at home.

Take a few minutes to send a text or email to a good friend thanking them for their friendship. You’ll be glad you did…

This Sunday, another Elder, Mike Chirveno will continue the study in Revelation by taking a closer look at the church in Thyatira found in Revelation 2:18-29. I hope you can come…and make a friend…and maybe even bring a friend.

Living the way Life is meant to be!

Troy

Leave a Reply

