Budapest and beyond…

Where do I start…there are so many topics to write about and so little time. We have been in Budapest all week and it has been absolutely incredible.
We arrived on Sunday afternoon and stopped at the hotel and then took the bus straight to the church that our friends helped to start. That evening after church we enjoyed an awesome Hungarian dinner and then received our instructions for the week.
On Monday we woke up early and went to a training class for the morning and part of the afternoon. Then I worked on a talk that I shared in the evening with an English club in a University dorm.
Tuesday and Wednesday we were allowed into the public university English classes to share short stories and then break down into groups of 2 or 3 to allow the students to practice English. In the afternoons we walked around the campuses and did “random evangelism” using surveys and the “Four Spiritual Laws.”
There are about 40 of us from America and we were split up all over the city to share the Gospel and invite the students to a gathering on Wednesday night where the Gospel would be shared. We were praying for about 200-250 and had a total of 268 chairs in the building. We ended up with about 400 showing up….it was packed. That was an amazing experience to see God answer prayer with such an overwhelming response.
Thursday and Friday have been very relaxing with much time to tour the city. This evening (we are 7 hours ahead of you), we began the Symposium where about 200 School Teachers have come to learn the curriculum. We have the opportunity to build relationships with the teachers and then hope to share the Gospel with them. Tomorrow night, each teacher will be invited to a dramatic presentation of the Gospel called, “Story of the Soul.” We have already heard stories of teachers whose lives have been changed through this outreach.
We will wrap up the symposium on Sunday and then pack up to leave for home early Monday morning. I want to close with a pretty awesome story that happened this morning while Leigh-Ann and I and a friend were headed into the city to do some sightseeing and find some souvenirs.
We were waiting for the tram and a little elderly gentleman eyed us from a few feet away. I was practicing a Hungarian word that I can’t even remember and honestly was not sure of its meaning. Not the smartest idea ever….as soon as I spoke he looked right over at me. He put his umbrella in my chest and with a bit of a grin motioned for my wallet. I told him I only spoke English and he quizzed me to see if I spoke Hungarian or German. After a few seconds he smiled and pointed at my running shoes and said “American?”
Then he started humming a bit of tune and asked in German if Leigh-Ann knew how to dance. I told him she was a great dancer and so he took her hand and started dancing. Right in the middle of the street with people everywhere. Then they kissed European style on each cheek and then he kissed her hand. Leigh-Ann had made his day! I was so fun to be in the middle of the city meeting such a sweet old man….
I was once again reminded of how every person in the world wants to feel important. Although it is so easy to think that I need to be a part of major ministries to change the world, the truth is that I simply need to seize the opportunities that God gives to touch a life. This could mean that we travel overseas to be a part of a well organized program or it could simply mean that we strike up a conversation with someone God puts into our path to put a smile on their face and hope in their heart.
 Leigh-Ann and I are so full of God’s blessings, and we can’t wait to share more…
 Love to you all!
Troy

Leave a Reply

