New Life Sunday – Every prayer counts

I hope you had a super Thanksgiving holiday yesterday. If you are like me, you probably ate way too much.
We had a feast of epic proportions with several great friends. Then we decided that since we ate so much, and since the weather was so incredibly beautiful, we should take a walk.
After we returned from our excursion, we were ready for dessert.
There was a point where I had to get down from the couch to sit on the floor for the simple reason that I needed to be able to stretch out a bit more in order to finish up the ice cream and pie.
My eating (or should I say over-eating) has reminded me of a verse from Proverbs 27:7 “One who is full loathes honey, but to one who is hungry everything bitter is sweet.”
While I was working on my plate of apple and pecan pie, someone asked me if I wanted some pumpkin cheesecake. The mere thought of that turned my stomach. Not because I don’t like pumpkin cheesecake (I love it) but because I was so full.
I am confident that you could have put any food in the world in front of me and I would not have eaten it. There was simply no room. My stomach has its limits…and that’s a good thing.
Often, I have used this Proverb to help when someone is dealing with temptation. The application is that if we are full of the Spirit, the temptations of the flesh will not tempt us.
However, as I consider the sermon text for Sunday, I would like to take this Proverb in a different direction. Revelation 8 is about the effect of the prayers of the saints. The picture is that each prayer that is offered up to God is kept and then poured out in His timing. There is no limit to the prayers that can be stored in God’s presence.
In other words, every prayer counts.
No prayer is lost or forgotten.
There is never a time when God’s capacity to remember prayers is full.
There are some pretty amazing applications that can be drawn from this truth that make a difference in your life and mine today. I hope you can take some time to read through Revelation 8 and consider the silence, the prayers and then the judgments as a result of the prayers offered up by the saints as recorded in Revelation 6:9-10.
God answers the prayers of the saints in epic form…not one prayer is lost and in His time the prayers add up to accomplish his great purposes of judgment and redemption.
As we consider our many blessings, Revelation 8 reminds us that we should be thankful that God remembers the prayers of the saints.
In the spirit of thanksgiving!
Troy

Leave a Reply

