New Life Sunday – Written for your generation…

Today, I attended a luncheon in support of the KC Downtown Council. The theme was, “A Millennial Makeover.” The keynote speaker was Jason Dorsey (The Gen Y Guy). He was funny, informative and practical.
 
He clearly communicated differences in generations. In the spirit of his premise, I am going to write my weekly email for each generation. Simply skip down to the year of your birth to experience communication tailored to you.
 
BEEP BEEP BEEP…Warning: Only read your generation or you will likely be offended.
 

Generation Y: 1977-1995

God Rocks! IMO I=unworthy God=worthy so worship God not mslf
 

Generation X: Born 1965 – 1977

This Sunday we are going to continue our series “Living at the core.” I decided on this series to cover 5 weeks through the Holiday Season. The series began during a brainstorm session with the finance team about how God has used New Life to affect so many lives. We wanted to communicate that everything we do in life is an investment and as a result we should take some time to evaluate our investment strategy in light of what God values.
 
Since we decided on December 4th as our target date for this service, I looked at the next several weeks during my sermon planning time. With Christmas Day and New Years Day falling on Sundays this year I knew I would not continue through Revelation on those dates so that left just two dates in December for the Revelation series. I decided that it would be too difficult to go back and forth, besides who wants to hear about Trumpet Judgments during the most wonderful time of the year.
 
This Sunday the sermon is entitled, “Living at the Core-Gauging our Worship.” We will look closely at the story of the Magi from Matthew 2:1-12 as mentors for our own worship. In my opinion, they are great examples of individuals who worshipped God from their heart.
 

Baby Boomers: Born 1946 – 1964

This Sunday is for you. You will feel so good to know that God can and should be worshipped. Your mistakes in the past will shrink in comparison to the rich and eternal love of God that sent Jesus to cover your failures. 

Whether your world is at a point of confusion or clarity, you will be encouraged to know that God is ready and waiting for your worship. You mean so much to Him and your worship means so much to Him.

True worship requires:

Time
Truth
Testing
Thanksgiving
 

If you can implement these principles this week your life will be better-guaranteed!

Matures: Born pre-1946
For the past several weeks, God has been teaching me about my need to worship Him. In my quiet time, I have been experiencing Him in quietness as He has spoken with me through His Word. He has proven to be faithful which gives me hope. He has promised to be available which gives me confidence. 

 God is amazing. He is not bound by time. I feel like I can sit in His presence for hours and feel encouraged. God accepts and even demands my sacrifice. It is my privilege to sacrifice for God and I do this by spending time in prayer and communion with Him, serving the needs of our church and sending notes of encouragement to those individuals who God puts on my heart. 
 I love the story of the Wise Men and their individual worship of the baby Jesus. I hope that when I come to the end of my life that I will be in a constant state of worship of my God and Savior. 
 I hope you enjoyed reading this as much as I enjoyed writing it. Blessing to every generation (Y, X, BB and Matures). Every generation is welcome and needed at New Life…please join in worship at 10:45am this Sunday.
 
Troy

Leave a Reply

