New Life Sunday – Mega Millions…$640M

What would you do with $640 MILLION DOLLARS?
 
If you take the lump sum and pay your taxes you will clear about $347 MILLION DOLLARS!
 
Well, for starters I would tithe….and give an offering . (By the way, if you’re reading this, and you have prayed the simple promise of tithing to God while picking your numbers, you don’t have to wait until you win to give back to God).  I would help a lot of friends and probably even a few enemies. I would be so much better at spending the money than most people.
 
Yes I would…I think…do you seriously think I would be dumb enough to let it ruin my life?
 
Ok, I really don’t know what I would do and I really don’t know if I would pass the test…but I think that’s a test I’m ready to take.
 
Ok, full disclosure, I would have to have a ticket to win and I don’t. I also don’t recommend it…HOWEVER let’s be clear…if you win, I’m ready to negotiate :).
 
CBS news had an article interviewing Mike Catalano, chairman of the mathematics department at Dakota Wesleyan University in Mitchell, S.D. Here is what he said,
 
 “You are about 50 times as likely to get struck by lightning as to win the lottery, based on the 90 people a year getting struck by lightning…based on other U.S. averages, you’re about 8,000 times more likely to be murdered than to win the lottery, and about 20,000 times more likely to die in a car crash than hit the lucky numbers.”
 
David Kramer, a lawyer in Lincoln, Neb., said that buying his Mega Millions ticket wasn’t about “the realistic opportunity to win…It’s the fact that for three days, the daydreaming time about what I would do if I won is great entertainment and, frankly, a very nice release from a normal day.”
 
Yeah Dave…way to be honest…maybe I should go get a ticket…
 
I have a better idea!
 
How about daydreaming about having something worth more the $640 MILLION with chances much greater than 1 in 176 million?
 
That’s what I’m talking about…a realistic opportunity worth more than Mega Millions.
 
It’s called HEAVEN!!!
 
And this Sunday that’s our topic from Revelation 21…the more we daydream about something better, the more discontent we become with what we have.
 
So for now, I would like to ask you to be discontent…discontent with this world, its temptations and short lived pleasures.
 
Spend your time daydreaming about Heaven and pretty soon you will become discontent with this old world…and that’s a good thing!
 
See you Sunday…especially if you win :)!
Troy
 
Announcement: We would love to have you join us in distributing 50 meals to our neighbors. All you need to do is show up at 10:00am and be ready to be blessed by being a blessing.

Leave a Reply

