New Life Sunday — Surgery, recovery and relationships…

On Wednesday of this week, Leigh-Ann had a full hysterectomy. We were both a bit nervous as we drove over to the hospital early in the morning. As soon as we arrived, we completed some paperwork and shortly thereafter Leigh-Ann was called back…behind the mystery door.
 
I waited for several minutes and then they invited me back to wait before they wheeled her back to the operating room. We each deal with our nerves by laughing so we passed the time by trying to be lighthearted.
 
Within a short time, her doctor arrived, asked what kind of surgery she was having….we both looked at each other hoping that was a safety precaution and not a serious question.
 
After a few more minutes of joking about how bad the surgery could be if he didn’t know what he was doing, the nurses came to wheel her off.
 
Then it was time to wait….it seemed to go pretty fast until the time the surgery was estimated to be complete…then it went another hour….and during that hour the time seemed to slow down.
 
I thought about everything that could go wrong and prayed that everything was ok. Finally the doctor came out and told me everything was successful and that Leigh-Ann would be in recovery for a while and I would be able to see her later when she was sent to a room.
 
She was pretty groggy when I first saw her, but as time went on she started to wake up. We decided it would be best for me to go home to see the kids and sleep in our own bed…yep, we decided….
 
I went to bed early and woke up a few minutes after 5am and looked at my phone and noticed that I had missed several calls and even more text messages from her. As I looked through the messages, I realized that while I was sound asleep, Leigh-Ann was going through quite the ordeal. Her blood pressure had dropped dangerously low and she was transferred to the Cardiology department.
 
I must say, I felt really bad that she had to go through all the stress alone in a hospital with no one she knew. I certainly didn’t mean to, but I failed to be there for her when she needed it.
 
Unfortunately this is not the first time in our marriage that this has happened. Unfortunately, it occurs far more often than it should…
 
I know you may find this hard to believe….but….too often I choose to make bad decisions and as a result fall short of her expectations in a relationship.
 
That is bad news….but…there is good news. This Sunday, we will study from Ephesians 1:15-23. This is a teaching-prayer from Paul that gives hope for our relationships. Paul communicates that for Christians, the Holy Spirit is an integral part of our lives and should be an integral part of our relationships.
 
AND WHEN HE IS, our relationships are always successful.
 
So whether you are married or single, old or young, nice or mean…with the help of the Holy Spirit you can be a success in your relationships.
 
I would consider the Holy Spirit “Relational Collateral” and with Him, our relational investments are always safe.
 
Now I better get home or I’ll have to add to this email…
 
Troy

Leave a Reply

