New Life Sunday – Roundup


I have a strange attraction to roundup weed killer.

Last night in between rain storms, I mowed the lawn and then killed the weeds.

I’m not sure how this works, but someone has led us to believe that grass looks good, but crabgrass, dandelions and broadleaf plants do not look good…especially in a mulch bed. Which is where they were growing.

That’s why I love roundup.

I have a one gallon pump sprayer full of roundup that is always ready for service. Give them a few sprays then just wait a few days…and when you look at the mulch, you will be full of praise.

Yeah!

There is one problem with having roundup so convenient…boys. Yes, the problem is we have a 2 1/2 and a 4 year old who love to help.

Last year, without me noticing, they grabbed my sidearm spray bottle and followed me around spraying the grass. They just wanted to help so bad. I had to admire their initiative, but  I also had to help steer it, so I changed out the roundup spray bottle for something a bit less toxic to grass.

After multiple fall and spring plantings we are finally back to having grass in most of the bare spots.

There is something we can learn from this story. This Sunday, we are going to study from Ephesians 5:1-21 about how to protect our relationships. In other words, there are some “relational chemicals” that can kill everything within reach.

The Apostle Paul tells us that “immorality” and “greed” and “foolish talking” are like chemicals that will kill any relationship. These sins are masked by the promise of instant gratification, but they will always kill.

There is much more to discuss, so I hope you can join us on Sunday at 10:45am.

Have a great weekend!
Troy

Leave a Reply

