New Life Sunday…reflections from a broken mirror

Today the tables were turned…maybe for the first time in my life. I had just met my parents for lunch with the kids and was back at my desk working on the sermon for Sunday, when my dad called and said, “You wouldn’t believe what I did…when I was backing out of the parking space at Crown Center, I hit the pole and broke the mirror on your van.”
 
Dad was calling to locate a phone book so he could find someone to call to fix the broken mirror.
 
I immediately took a trip down memory lane and was reminded of several of my own mishaps:

  • The time as a teenager when I was driving the car up on to the oil ramps a bit faster than I should have and drove over the edge
  • The time several years ago when I had a new truck and was backing out of the garage and hit the mirror on the way out breaking it (and a little bit of my heart)
  • Cutting a bit sharp with my car heading into the garage and scraping paint with my bumper

 So the fact that dad has finally given me an opportunity to show some grace is actually quite exciting.
 
While growing up, I had my share of mishaps with cars, go-carts and lawnmowers and every time I can remember, my dad took my accidents in stride. We just began working on ways to fix the damage.
 
I have learned many things from my dad and not the least is that it’s really never worth getting upset over broken things. It’s much better to spend my energy on the next step necessary to fix what has been broken.
 
The good news is that I called a friend in the auto parts business and he has already ordered the part.
 
Even more good news is that this relates to the topic for the sermon this Sunday. We will be studying from Luke 11:1-13 about prayer to our Father in Heaven. I love that Jesus has experienced every temptation that we have and so He understands our feelings when things are difficult. God knows what it’s like to lose something valuable, He gave up His own Son. And since the Holy Spirit indwells believers, we can be confident that He is not surprised when we become speechless in our prayers, He simply steps in on our behalf and prays with groanings to deep for words.
 
In addition, since I have experienced grace and forgiveness, it is my privilege to dish out grace and forgiveness when given the opportunity.
 
 ALSO, this Sunday we will be getting a report from the “My City Matters” team of all that has happened this past week on the missions trip to the city. If you would like to check it out beforehand, you can go to: www.facebook.com/MyCityMattersKC orhttp://www.mycitymatters.org/.
 
Have a blessed day!
Troy

Announcement: There is a woman who has attended our church that has two sons and is in need of furnishings for an apartment. At this point she has nothing, so anything would help. Please reply if you have some furnishings that you would be willing to donate.

 
 
Leave a Reply

