New Life Sunday…facing an ugly heart

Just a few minutes ago I watched the video of a man sharing his story. This story made me:

  • Angry
  • Sad
  • Justified in my anger
  • Question my motives
  • Evaluate how I look at people
  • Feel convicted for my self-righteousness
  • Grateful for God’s grace

What is even more intriguing about this is that Steven filmed this down the street from New Life just a few weeks ago on the final day of My City Matters.
 
I am nearly positive that I have seen Steven while I have been driving to and from New Life. I have never given him a second thought. Up until seeing his story, I haven’t really cared about him or most of the people I see like him for that matter.
 
I have been preparing a sermon on love and am beginning to wonder if Paul was thinking of me when he wrote, “If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal.” (1 Corinthians 13:1)
 
I am working through the way in which Jesus answered the lawyer who asked Him how to inherit eternal life. Jesus turned the lawyers attention to the law which states, “love God and love your neighbor.” (Luke 10:27).
 
Then the lawyer asked Jesus who his neighbor was…and Jesus gave him the story of the Good Samaritan. (Luke 10:29-37).
 
The story of Steven Garret reminds me of the Samaritan…the Jews seemed to have as much hatred for Samaritans as many people today have for sex offenders. Yet Jesus made the Samaritan the hero of the story. The Samaritan (in spite of his reputation and history) displayed love while the religious people of the time ignored the needs of the city.
 
You can watch Steven’s story here:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=pQHSvbQq87o
 
I hope you can come on Sunday to hear more about the topic of love on Sunday. We will look closely at John 15:1-17 and Matthew 22:34-40.
 
Press on!
Troy

Leave a Reply

