New Life Sunday – Soccer and sanctification…

This fall I have started to coach soccer for Sophie’s team. After sitting on the sidelines for a few years, I figured that I might as well pitch in and offer to help.
 
Coaching  nine and ten year old girls is not the most glamorous opportunity. It is always a challenge to keep their attention and inspire them to work hard, but so far it’s been a really good experience.
 
I have found that if I want the girls to follow my instruction, I need to be really clear.
 
I mean, REALLY CLEAR.
 
If I say line up, typically there will be 6 or 7 girls standing in random places waiting for everyone else to get behind them.
 
If I tell them to take a water break some of them will sit down, stretch out, start looking through their back pack and begin engaging in a story about their day at school. A few others will run over, grab a drink and be back in a matter of seconds.
 
One thing I have learned from coaching and parenting (and really any part of life that entails leadership) is to be VERY CLEAR in setting expectations.
 
For instance, now when I ask the girls to line up, I have already set down a cone and will stand in front of the cone and ask them to line up behind the cone and then I will motion with my arms the direction that I intend the line to go.
 
If I give them a water break, I will tell them that they have thirty seconds to get some water and then tell them where to go as soon as they are finished with the water.
 
The Apostle John provides a model for keeping instructions very clear. This week we will study from 1 John 1:5-10. In these verses John communicates how important it is for us to be REALLY CLEAR about God, sin and the difference between our role and God’s role.
 
Whether it’s soccer or our spiritual walk, one key factor is that we must receive clear instruction or we will be confused. I hope you can attend this Sunday to be a part of the worship and fellowship. Sarah Evans will be sharing about her passion to go to China as a career missionary and I will be sharing a sermon from 1 John with some clear instructions for life.
 
I hope to see you soon!
Troy
Announcement: This Sunday night, Dale and Jerusha Losch will host a “Parents Time Out” from6:00-7:30pm at New Life. Anyone is welcome and childcare will be provided.

Leave a Reply

