New Life Sunday – Better than Black Friday…

Thanksgiving is near the top of my list for favorite holidays. This year was no exception. Leigh-Ann and I and the kids hosted dinner at our house with family and friends. My parents even made the trip down from Minnesota.

Our celebration really started the night before at New Life where we were able to worship and share with others in our church family the many blessings we have experienced.

Thanksgiving day was another opportunity to thank God for His many blessings in the midst of eating way too much food and watching way too much football (is that even possible?!?).

We probably need to celebrate Thanksgiving every month…and not just for the food and football :).

What is so interesting about thanksgiving is that it is followed by “Black Friday.”

I’m going to say this up front…I am not a fan of Black Friday. If you want my opinion…and if you don’t, I’m going to say this…Black Friday is about as opposite as thanksgiving as you can get.

I love what I read online, “Black Friday: Because only in America, people trample others for sales exactly one day after being thankful for what they already have.”

For those of you who I just offended…too bad….just kidding….I searched online for the best black Friday deals and actually they looked halfway tempting…until I realized most of the stuff that is sold on Black Friday is anything but a necessity.

Ok, the rant is over…what I want to say is that the reason people lose sleep, risk getting trampled and brave the cold weather is that they believe the stores are providing them a value that is worth the effort necessary.

That value is arguable….ok, I said I was done…

Tomorrow, we are going to study from 1 John 4:13-21 about the value of the cross. Don’t worry, the sermon is not about generosity or stewardship…this week :)…so if you were one of “those people” who went out on Black Friday, you should not feel too condemned…lol.

Last week we looked at how the power of the cross has affected us. This week we will look at the value the cross provides for us

There will be no long lines, fear of getting trampled or crabby people at New Life!

See you tomorrow!
Troy


Leave a Reply

