New Life Sunday – The greatest gift…

I hope this past week has been “the most wonderful time of the year.” There is so much for which to be thankful:

  • Our Savior that was born in Bethlehem
  • Friends and Family
  • Time to reflect on the past year and set some goals for this next year
  • Sharing gifts
  • Eating way too much food (should I be thankful for that? :))

With five kids, we had plenty of gifts getting passed around at our house on Christmas eve and Christmas day. Everything from socks to superman to a doll house.
 
And this is no ordinary doll house.
 
Leigh-Ann came up with this idea several months ago and then found all the supplies. For weeks, I tried to ignore her and all her supplies. I complained about all the work this was going to make for us. I even made sure that my day off was full of other higher priorities, so I wouldn’t have to help set up that doll house.
 
And then it happened…Christmas was fast approaching and I either had to help with this doll house or pony up the money to buy them something.
 
Like a typical guy, I became motivated by my pocketbook.
 
I will admit, the initial installation was not one of my better days, but things got better after that. I will even go so far as to say I enjoyed the part I helped on the doll house.
 
It turned into such a great gift…and the girls LOVED it.
 
I have even attached a picture (because I’m so proud of Ligh-Ann :)) so you can see for yourself.
 
When it comes to Christmas, there are many great gifts…however, this Sunday at New Life we will be reminded of the greatest gift. We will finish up our study of 1 John with a sermon from 1 John 5:13-21 entitled, “The greatest gift.”
 
Our children’s program is a go (it was rescheduled from last week because of the weather) and I have a hunch you will love it. We have kept up the decorations from the spirit of Christmas for one last week and we may even get to sing a final Christmas carol or two.
 
It’s going to be a great day and I hope you can join in!
 
Troy

Announcement: If you have children that will be involved in the Christmas program, don’t forget to arrive by 8:30am for rehearsal and then breakfast.

Image

Leave a Reply

