New Life Sunday – Outdated sweater…

This morning when I was getting ready for the day, I looked for my warmest sweater…for obvious reasons. I made it through a few meetings and then had to run down to pick up my computer from Leigh-Ann and the kids.

I said, hi to each of them, waved goodbye and then went back to the 4th floor.

Later I noticed a text message from Leigh-Ann that said, “Sophie says your sweater is a little outdated.

Seriously?

That made me laugh, so I called Leigh-Ann to get the whole story.

After I left, there was a noticeable gasp from the back seat of the mini-van and Leigh-Ann thought something was wrong. She turned around to ask Sophie (who is 9 by the way) what was wrong and she replied, “I think Dad’s sweater is a little outdated.”

So Leigh-Ann asked her if she should tell me and Sophie thought that would be a good idea.

I have officially reached middle age and that has been confirmed by the fact that my children are old enough to know more about fashion than I do. It’s about time for my sweater to become a memory of the past.

As we move into 2014, I am very excited to share a sermon series entitled, “Building our legacy-living a life that counts.” Although after today, I may change it to be, “How to outlive an old sweater.”

This topic was inspired by a close friend who passed away a few months ago. He was an incredible man and he has left an indelible print on the people he met and the projects he tackled. He leaves behind a trail of life, light and love that will continue for a long time.

I am excited to explore some of the characteristics that have contributed to the legacy of my friend. He lived a life that lasts…and you can too.

This Sunday, Dave Robinson will begin the series by sharing a sermon from Mark 1 & 2 about what Jesus said yes & no to.

I have attached the sermon series schedule and I hope you will be encouraged and built up by the Scriptures this coming year.

Now to find a different sweater….

Troy

legacy100

 

A few months ago, a very close friend passed away. He was an incredible man and he has left an indelible print on the people he met and the projects he tackled. He leaves behind a trail of life, light and love that will continue for a long time.

 

This spring the sermon series at New Life will explore some of the characteristics that have contributed to the legacy of my friend. He lived a life that lasts…and you can too.

 

Leaving a legacy:

1/5      What Jesus said Yes & No to – Reflections from Mark 1-2 (Dave Robinson)

1/12    The base value of a Christian life  – 1 John 5:13-21

1/19    The X Factor for leadership  – Exodus 3

1/26    The irony of humility  – 2 Samuel 23

2/2      Consumer or contributor – Esther 5

2/9      Bridge builders – 1 Thessalonians 2

2/16    Risk takers – Hebrews 11

2/23    Warrior extraordinaire – 1 Chronicles 11

3/2      Life lock – Jude

 

Developing a legacy

(Lent Begins-Life Continues)

3/9      Devotional life – make space – 1 Peter 3:15

3/16    Prayer life – talk and listen – John 10:27

3/23    Missional life – life begins at the bottom – Mark 8:34

3/30    Generous life – pursue the Kingdom – Matthew 6:33

4/6      Restful life – sharpen the saw – Mark 2:27

4/13    Worshipful life – Palm Sunday – Matthew 21:1-11

4/20    Celebrate Easter – Matthew 28:1-10

 

Developing Legacy Partners:

4/27    The value of one – Philemon 1-16

5/4      The strength of restoration – Philemon 17-25

5/11    The power of authenticity – 2 John 1-13

5/18    The beauty of cooperation – 3 John 1-8

5/25    The significance of reputation – 3 John 9-14

Leave a Reply

