New life Sunday – Shovel or rake?

Earlier this week, just before the snow storm was scheduled to hit, I decided to clear some of the ice off of the driveway and sidewalks.

Yes, I am that smart…LOL.

From the word “shovel” Dallas was by my side. He loves to help…especially outside.

He noticed me looking at the red plastic rake he was holding and immediately began to explain….

“I decided to use this rake because my shovel might be broken.”

So I replied, “Might be broken???”

“Yeah, I guess it is broken, but I like my rake better…my rake will work better anyway.”

I didn’t know whether to be proud for having an optimist on my hands or to be worried that he is growing up with a jilted view of reality.

I looked at his shovel and sure enough, it had snapped. And to be honest, the rake actually worked pretty good at pulling chunks of ice away.

So, all in all, I think we have a little optimist on our hands :).

Snow can change life and create a lot of work. I find snow to be very therapeutic and speaking of optimism, it can also provide work that when completed is very fulfilling.

I love…absolutely love clearing out the driveway and sidewalks and then taking a minute to rest on my shovel and feel an incredible sense of satisfaction from clearing out a way to drive and walk.

This Sunday, we will study the life of the Apostle Paul. He was a man that God used to clear many paths for the Gospel. His life was committed to shoveling so that the beautiful message of Jesus could be communicated accross the known world. 

If you have a few minutes, I suggest you read through the book of 1 Thessalonians in preparation for the sermon this Sunday.

In the meantime, take a few minutes to enjoy the beauty of our snow…it hopefully won’t be here too long.

Have a great weekend!

Troy

Leave a Reply

