New Life Sunday – Opossum…

This evening, I took four of the kids to the park to release some energy. After playing on the swings and slides for a while, I looked out into the distance and noticed several geese and some kind of an animal on all fours.
 
At first we thought it was a skunk…but as we got closer, it became apparent it was an opossum.
 
Opossums gross me out…I’m not sure if it’s their tail, their nose or the fact that several years ago I ran over one turning it into road kill. I can still feel the …thump…..thump at 55mph.
 
Sophie was intent on getting a photo of our new friend. So we just kept getting closer and closer. We followed that little guy around for about 20 minutes and ultimately got within about 10 feet. I have attached a photo to the email for your viewing pleasure :).
 
I will admit, that during our game of “chase down the opossum” I found myself beginning to like the little guy. I was initially worried about the kids getting attacked or something crazy… so I kept trying to think back to anything I have ever learned about opossums. All I could remember is that their defense mechanism is to play dead. At one point, the idea crossed my mind to throw a stick at the opossum, but I concluded that would be pointless and probably not a good example to three boys who were watching me.
 
After finishing our photo shoot we started to head back to the van. On the way home, I asked the kids to share their favorite part of the day.
 
Their answers were unanimous…seeing the opossum.
Image 
As parents, Leigh-Ann and I have taught our kids the value of moving out of our comfort zones and pursuing adventure. Obviously there is more to this than chasing opossums. We believe they need to learn to build relationships with people who are different than themselves. They need to experience the power of the Gospel in their life and in lives of people they meet. We know God has called each of us to make disciples and not to simply be disciples.
 
This Sunday, Dave Robinson will be preaching from the book of Nehemiah about becoming a person of legacy. I know Nehemiah did not leave a legacy by sitting on the sidelines.
 
Nehemiah moved out of his comfort zone by faith and God used him incredibly.
 
Just think about it…God may have something incredible for you to witness this weekend. It all starts with taking that first step.
 
I hope you say yes to your next God-given adventure!
 
Troy
 
Announcements: This Sunday EVERYONE is invited to a church pot-luck and relocation update meeting. You can sign up to bring something here: link: http://www.perfectpotluck.com/meals.php?t=ETYJ8974   password: 816421pray

This Tuesday you are invited to have lunch and hear a great speaker at New Life from 12-1:00pm. For more info go to: www.reallifedowntown.org

Leave a Reply

