New Life Sunday – Granite ice scraper…

Yesterday afternoon it became very cold and started snowing pretty hard. The result was that by late afternoon I looked out my 4th story office window and nearly all that I could see was a line of headlights and taillights. As a result, I kept postponing my drive home…even though it is only one mile.

Call me crazy, but I don’t like sitting in traffic in a cold car.

I finally got the call that dinner was ready, so I packed up my laptop and books and braved the elements as I walked across the parking lot to my car.

When I stepped outside, I could see that my car was covered in snice (snow and ice). Since I am from Minnesota and this wasn’t my first snow storm, I could tell from a distance that the ice on my windshield was going to take more than my wipers and fluid.

Living in Kansas City and having a garage (at least until a few days ago…another story for another day :)), I haven’t really needed to stock my car with an ice scraper. Which presented a pretty  significant problem for me as I walked through the wind and snow to my car yesterday evening.

And then I saw the solution to my problem…

A granite sample from our church relocation project. It was much sturdier than the piece of cardboard sitting next to it. So without any further thought, I used the smooth sided, straight cut of granite to scrape off the ice.

It worked great…the ice and snow were no match for the granite.

Satisfied, I sat in my car, turned my wipers on to clear the loose snow and ice from my windshield…and then it occurred to me that granite it much harder than glass…and that is when I noticed the scratches in my windshield.

My NEW windshield by the way…I replaced it less than a month ago, and now it has some fine “art” scratched into the surface.

The granite vs. windshield occurred after a day of studying from Romans 3:27-31. In these verses, Paul is responding to some questions he was anticipating after dropping the bomb that every person is guilty of breaking God’s law…furthermore, there is nothing we can do to solve this problem on our own.

Our most valiant attempts to fix our dilemma fall very short of perfection. No matter how hard we try to make up for our sin, we only  make matters worse.

Similar to what I did with my granite sample turned ice scraper. Our innocent attempts to make our lives better only leave us worse off…

This Sunday, we will celebrate the fact that we are justified by the grace of God through Jesus and as a result we can:

  • Boast…but our boasting should be in God
  • Include everyone…Jew and Gentile alike deserve this message of hope
  • Fulfill the law by faith in Jesus…don’t avoid, ignore or change it

I hope you can join me for more great news this Sunday at 10:45am!

Announcement: We still need volunteers to help with the work day tomorrow. We will paint walls and stain the concrete floor. Only a few more Saturdays to help…so please join us.

New Web Site: http://www.newlifecity.church

Granite

Leave a Reply

