Racism and Reconciliation…

This morning I offered to work from home with our two youngest, Isaiah and Ian while Leigh-Ann chaperoned a school field trip.
Boys 2
While gathering my thoughts, I noticed some social media interaction regarding the unrest at the University of Missouri. I liked a blog post on facebook (An open letter to the white #Mizzou student who wrote the open letter to black student activists) and have been pensive ever since.

WHY?

WHY SUCH EMOTION?

One of my conclusions is that we were made by God with an innate need to belong.

When I am ostracized for any reason, I get snarky and bothered. My justice meter moves me into action.

I am watching my boys…they are like many other little boys…

Boys 1

  • They like popcorn while watching a moobie 🙂
  • They have vivid imaginations and dreams
  • They still try to sneak Halloween candy and find ways to bicker with each other
  • They love to be a part and to feel wanted

I love them so much…they are my sons. I would take a bullet for them…and I will defend them if someone attempts to convince them that shouldn’t belong. The fact that they are black and I am white is A ZERO FACTOR in the fact that I accept them and love them.

I have met people who do allow race to be a factor in their decision to accept people…and it has tempted me to feel like I don’t belong. The feeling that I don’t belong hurts enough that I would never want my three and five year old boys to feel it.

But they have and they will…rarely from adults and virtually never from kids…but occasionally, they will be faced with racism such as:

  • The white woman who saw me with the boys in the store and said, “who are those kids?” (would you have even spoken if I was holding the hands of my white daughters?)
  • The black people who are adamant that “white people” don’t know how to care for “black kids” and have told us so

I get it…hurt people, hurt people.

But what kind of person would say something derogatory about the race of a child?

A broken, marginalized person with an inferiority complex…I’ve been here…maybe not racist about children, but I have said some incredibly mean things to other people…things that I regret. Things that marginalize others.

The only way to solve the problem of racism and tragically broken relationships is to understand and accept the Gospel.

The good news is that Jesus as God in human form, spent time on earth, was marginalized to a cross and then after three days was resurrected in order to heal the brokenness that had compounded over thousands of years of civilization.

And it doesn’t stop there…Jesus has sent the Holy Spirit to live within Christians. One incredible value of the indwelling Spirit is that as Christians, you and I now belong.

We are not marginalized.

This Sunday at 10:45 I hope you can attend New Life CityChurch, I am excited to share from Romans 8:9-11 about the power of the Spirit to reconcile and invite us to belong.

If you have a relationship that has been broken or have felt marginalized…you will be filled with hope.

Have a great weekend and “Go Tigers,”
Troy

2 thoughts on “Racism and Reconciliation…

  1. Thank you for your post. I am the grandfather of a mixed race grandson and say “amen” to all you said. He has been such a joy in our lives and in the lives of others. I have been a vital part of his life and am thankful for the opportunity.

Leave a Reply

