A loud song…

I’m going to let you in on a family secret…I like to sing.

Loudly!

I also like to make up songs and I like to whistle.

Honestly, I love to get a reaction out of Leigh-Ann and the kids. Sometimes after I belt out a powerful line or two, I will ask them if I should try out for the Voice or America’s Got Talent.

My girls (all three of them) roll their eyes and then turn up the radio as their way of telling me that would not be a good choice.

There are times however that the boys can be convinced to accept me and my vocal chords. They catch on to my antics and may even sing with me. Or at least whistle…which for the youngest is a high pitched hum.

This morning I was feeling it while everyone was eating breakfast and I was able to get a reaction…which for me was Leigh-Ann reminding me of this verse, Proverbs 27:14 “Whoever blesses his neighbor with a loud voice, rising early in the morning, will be counted as cursing.”

Cat Proverb

As I consider our kids, I don’t really care if they learn to sing or not, however I do want for each of them to be heirs of a Christian heritage, happy home, quality life skills and a love for life.

Whether they become proficient singers is an afterthought….and by the way, if they learn to sing well, it will be from their mother…if they learn to sing loud and a bit off pitch, it will be from me.

This Sunday, James Cottier a recently elected elder at New Life will be preaching from Romans 8:12-17. The end of those verses promises that if we are “children of God” then we are also “heirs of God.”

No matter how you look at it, being an “heir of God” holds so much more promise than an heir of me…and it probably even means a better voice. You are warmly invited to join us at 10:45am…I anticipate a great service.

I hope you have a great weekend,

Troy

Announcement: In case you are interested in reading some of the stories /watching some of the videos from our ThanksGIVING campaign, you can see them here.

Leave a Reply

