Disappointed Vikings Fan

I am a Minnesota Vikings fan…and have been for as long as I can remember.

In case you didn’t know, the Vikings lost on Sunday after their kicker, Blair Walsh missed a 27 yard field goal attempt.

For those of you who are not football fans, missing that short of a field goal is like a pro golfer missing a two foot putt or a Major League baseball player dropping a routine fly ball in the outfield.

I would guess that most high school kickers can consistently make a 27 yard field goal.

Well, no one is more aware of this than Blair Walsh…I can only imagine what went through his mind when he missed it. I am certain, it was not an easy walk to the locker room full of teammates and coaches who were devastated.

Since it happened, I have felt bad for him. As big of a Vikings fan as I claim to be, I have never even painted my face purple much less invested hours and hours into training for that moment.

There were some fans who acted ridiculous…but for the most part Vikings fans have been disappointed, but understanding.

Though none were quite as awesome as a first grade class who wrote letters to Blair Walsh.

I think my favorite is from a first grader named Sophia (I like the name too), “Dear Blair Walsh. I know that it can be hard to get through things that are sad. But you have to try and try again. Everyone makes mistakes sometimes. One time I made a mistake when I was doing a cartwheel. I felt embarrassed. You can still help the Vikings win the Super Bowl next year.”

A note that awesome needs no further comment… :).

I will be the first to admit that the trials I have faced this week don’t compare to what Blair Walsh has endured…and he would probably be the first to admit that his trial was not bad at all compared to the trials of those who have children facing terminal cancer or loved ones that are fighting to stay alive or many, many other trials faced by people all over the world.

If you are in the middle of a trial…and you need some hope and direction, I REALLY hope you can plan to attend New Life on Sunday. Pastor Dave will be finishing up our series entitled, “God is…” with part two of his sermon on overcoming trials from Job 40-42 entitled, “God is  Supreme Ruler and Gracious Redeemer.”

If you are unable to attend, but still want to hear the sermon you can listen to it online.

Regarding trials, I think I have learned my lessons from football this year, so GO CHIEFS!!!

Troy

Leave a Reply

