Cat Diaries…

Dat diary

Last night at our downtown community group meeting we were discussing how there are times when we question the plan of God and how it relates to our lives. A highlight was when our host suggested that maybe a look at the “Cat Diaries” could help with our understanding.

For starters, I am not a cat guy…if I am anything I am a dog guy, but even that is questionable most of the time.

In my (humble) opinion, cats have too much drama. They seem to be judgmental and temperamental…and if you are a cat person, like your cat, you are probably already judging me… :).

So this morning, I took up the challenge to watch the “Cat Diaries.”

Wow! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

If you decide to watch the link, remember, the diary entries are written from the perspective of a cat…questioning the sanity, goodness and kindness of its owner…

Here are my favorite lines…read in a somber voice…

“Dear Diary, my food dish is now onlyย  half full, it is obvious that I will soon starve to death…this may be my last entry”

“Dear Diary, it has come to my attention that the authorities have two hands, they seem to have made it their sadistic policy only to pet me with one of them at a time. Half of love is just lo which is how I feel. My spirit is breaking.”

“Dear Diary, I have been stalking an insect on the wall for the past three days now. All of my attempts to catch it have been thwarted. However today on further inspection, I found out that the insect was in fact a thumbtack. There is no logic in this place.”

Unfortunately, I think my own thoughts about the goodness of God may resemble those cat diaries at times.

How often do I question the goodness of God without being privy to all of the information? I know there are moments when I wonder if God will keep His promises or if I will be rejected and alone.

This Sunday, we continue our verse by verse study and will cover Romans 9:19-23. If you get some time to read Romans 8-9 before Sunday morning that would be ideal.

These verses written by the Apostle Paul attempt to answer the question we have about whether God should hold us accountable for our sin. There is so much great material, you won’t want to miss.

I hope you can come early, service starts at 10:45am!

Troy

Leave a Reply

