The Gospel and a pro wrestler…

Several years ago I met the late professional wrestler, Randy Savage. He is known as one of the greatest professional wrestlers of all time.

When I met him, he showed up at a suit and tie dinner and was the only one out of more than 500 in a tank top.  His voice was totally raspy and he showed up late….so late that he missed the entire event.  He and his body guard (like he needs one) ended up eating his steak dinner in the hotel kitchen.  There were only a few people left so I joined Randy “Macho Man” Savage for dinner in the kitchen of a hotel.

Randy Savage

I learned several things about him including the fact that he played minor league baseball before his illustrious pro wrestling career.

After we had chatted a while, I walked away and he finished eating. It was at this time that I had an incredibly clear prompting from the Holy Spirit to share the good news about Jesus with Randy “Macho Man” Savage.

As I walked out to my car to retrieve a pamphlet explaining the good news of Jesus, I told the Lord that if he was still around when I returned, I would give it to him and encourage him to learn more about Jesus if he wasn’t  presently a Christian.

I ended up meeting Randy by his Hummer…gave him the pamphlet and asked if I could pray with him. He accepted it all and then drove off…

I have no idea if he ever gave that interaction a second thought…I do know that Randy Savage passed away from a heart condition in 2011 at the age of 58.

When I think of the Gospel (good news about Jesus), I am fully confident that it is powerful and applicable to everyone…normal, everyday people like you and I, Pro Wrestlers and everyone in between.

This Sunday, one of our New Life Elders, James Cottier will be sharing a sermon from Romans 10:5-13. This is an incredibly well known passage regarding the simple Gospel of Jesus that has the power to change lives.

I hope you can attend,

Troy

 

Leave a Reply

