Falling in love and staying in love…

troy-and-leigh-ann-wedding

Falling in love with Leigh-Ann was easy…she is beautiful, witty, smart, fun…I could go on, but I don’t want her to get a big head :). It’s been more than twenty years since we first met and staying in love has not been nearly so easy.

In fact, some of her greatest strengths have actually provided opportunities to misplace my love for her with my love for what she can do.

Leigh-Ann keep our house immaculate (especially considering that we have five kids). She can cook and bake with the best. She is extremely quick on her feet. She is loyal and quick to forgive.

I’m sure after reading this description, you are wondering how it would be more difficult to stay in love than to fall in love.

Here’s why….if I’m not careful I can become totally preoccupied with what Leigh-Ann can do for me, that I fail to love Leigh-Ann for who she is…

This dilemma spreads far beyond romantic relationships…this Sunday we are going to look at another “Little Fox” called, “The danger of compromised love” from Revelation 2:1-7.

This is the story of a church that fell so deeply in love with the culture of Christianity that they abandoned their love for Jesus.

Unfortunately as a husband, my list of accolades is much shorter than Leigh-Ann’s so I make it easy for her to stay in love with me :).

I am super stoked about the sermon for Sunday, I hope to see you there,

Troy

Leave a Reply

