Leadership….

This past Monday, I decided that it would be a great idea to leverage the efforts of our three boys to work on a yard project that has been on my mental to-do list for more than a year. We needed to treat our railroad tie retaining walls with a protective urethane.

I figured it would be a good project for them since we were outside, the chemicals would put some hair on their chest, and they really couldn’t hurt anything.

Problem was that I had a hard time finding enough tools for each boy to have his own. Finally, after taking it upon themselves to find more tools, they found a few brushes and rollers. It was the process of looking that became quite entertaining.

They began by going into the garage and looking for anything that resembled a tool. One of their first discoveries was a putty knife. My initial thought (to myself of course) was, “what in the world made them think that would work as a paintbrush?” Another discovery was a paint roller without the cover. Again, I love my boys, but at that moment, I wondered how they could even consider hard plastic and metal as an option to transfer liquid from a bucket to the retaining wall.

The final two discoveries were noteworthy. One was a high-quality roller that I had hidden, hoping they wouldn’t find it because I didn’t want to ruin it. And of course they found it…and of course, I didn’t have the heart to tell them not to use it. The final discovery was a vacuum brush. Of course, I knew it would be ruined if they used it, however for whatever reason, I let them give it a try….and to my surprise and amazement…it worked.

It worked so well, that by the end of the day, I was offering my paint roller to them so I could use the vacuum brush. Ultimately, the boys worked really hard and we ended up having a great day. They weren’t perfect…but then again, neither was I. We each made a few messes but we did much more good than harm.

My role as a leader in the project was to give them direction, support them in their pursuit of resources and to keep them encouraged, fed and in the end even paid :).3 boysa

There are similarities in what I did as a project manager on Monday and what I do as a pastor, Tuesday through Sunday. This Sunday, Pastor Dave is going to bring a sermon from 1 Timothy 3:1-7 on the topic of spiritual leadership. This is a part of our vision casting series entitled, “Going Deep, Going Wide.”

Leadership is vital in every facet of life…and it is especially vital in the church. I hope you can plan to join us for our service on Sunday at 10:45 am.

Have a great weekend,

Troy

Leave a Reply

